The American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers is comprised of Fellows who are highly skilled negotiators and litigators who represent individuals in all facets of family law. These areas include divorce, annulment, prenuptial agreements, postnuptial agreements, marital settlement agreements, child custody and visitation, business valuations, property valuations and division, alimony, child support and other family law issues.

To be represented by a Fellow of the American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers is to be represented by a leading practitioner in the field of family law. The 1600 AAML Fellows across the United States are generally recognized by judges and attorneys as preeminent family law practitioners with a high level of knowledge, skill and integrity. Academy Fellows enjoy a reputation for professionalism, competence and integrity.

John E. Harding is a member of the Northern California Chapter of the Academy.

About The Academy

1,600 members in 50 states

1962 in Chicago, Illinois

Alabama, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin and the Regional Mountain States, which includes Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah and Wyoming.

“To encourage the study, improve the practice, elevate the standards and advance the cause of matrimonial law, to the end that the welfare of the family and society be protected.”

Areas of Expertise:
Divorce, prenuptial agreements, postnuptial agreements, annulment, child custody and visitation, property valuation and division, alimony and child support.

Qualifications for Membership:
Be recognized by the bench and bar in his or her jurisdiction as an expert practitioner in matrimonial law.
Admitted to bar 10 years, 75 percent specialization in matrimonial law, but subject to exception in certain geographic areas and other exceptional circumstances.

Have state family law certification if it exists. Where it doesn’t exist, must have completed 15 hours of continuing legal education in each of previous five years.

Pass oral and/or written examination on wide-ranging issues pertaining to matrimonial and family law.

Be interviewed by a state board of examiners as well as be passed upon by other matrimonial law practitioners in the state.

Aspire to the ethical standards set forth in the “Bounds of Advocacy” as well as state bar rules of professional conduct.

Demonstrate involvement in study or improvement of matrimonial law, such as publishing articles or continuing education presentations.